Monday, 24 April 2017

Mini Reviews :: My Lady Jane, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman, Blood For Blood & Unfiltered



29856520 Publisher: Walker Books AU
Release Date: September 1st 2016
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape / Paperplus



A comical, fantastical and witty re-imagining of the Tudor world, perfect for fans of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. 


Lady Jane Grey, sixteen, is about to be married to a total stranger - and caught up in an insidious plot to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. 

But that's the least of Jane's problems. She's about to become Queen of England. Like that could go wrong.


The number one thing you should know when going into MY LADY JANE as this book is SO FUNNY! I can't remember the last time I laughed out loud so many times when reading a book and like

All the characters were adorable and so loveable!!! Jane was literally me and every other bookworm reincarnated AND I LOVED HER SO MUCH!!!

 “He wanted to tell her she'd have more room if she'd just get rid of her books, but he supposed that in her case, it would be like telling a mother she'd have more room if she threw out her children.”


“And most of all, she loved the way books could transport her from her otherwise mundane and stifling life and offer the experiences of a hundred other lives.”


I loved the whole character cast in here as they were such cute little oddballs! Jane (of course) was my favourite but G was hilarious and Edward was adorable!

The history was extremely well-written! I'm always slightly wary going into historical retelling as there's a fine line between retelling history and making a hash of it, but MY LADY JANE pulled it off perfectly.

I did find that by the time I got to the middle of the book, it did start to drag for awhile. Although still funny, the story didn't seem to go anywhere at all and it meandered around for what felt AGES before it finally got back to the good bits.

Sooooo many favourite quotes! But my number one favourite was this one:

“No horse jokes," he said.
"My lord, I apologize for the horse joke. If you put down the book---unharmed!---I will give you a carrot."
He brandished the book at her. "Was that a horse joke?"
"Neigh."
"Was that a horse joke?”


::Thank you WALKER BOOKS AU for the review copy!::
Actual rating 4.5!


33795542
Publisher: Hachette
Release Date: January 5th 2017
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape / Paperplus


Eighteen-year-old Hattie Hoffman is a talented actress, loved by everyone in her Minnesotan hometown. When she's found stabbed to death on the opening night of her school play, the tragedy rips through the fabric of the community.

Sheriff Del Goodman, a close friend of Hattie's dad, vows to find her killer, but the investigation yields more secrets than answers: it turns out Hattie played as many parts offstage as on. Told from three perspectives, Del's, Hattie's high school English teacher and Hattie herself, The Last Act of Hattie Hoffman tells the story of the Hattie behind the masks, and what happened in that final year of her life. . .




What an absolute MINDCRASH of a book this was! I am an utter sucker for anything that has crime/murder in it and THE LAST ACTS OF HATTIE HOFFMAN mostly satisfied my inner crime junkie although it fell a bit short in the end. I stayed up far too late trying to finish it though, which says something right?!

Really enjoyed the multiple POVS. I'm still not sure if I liked Hattie or disliked her! The fact that we knew she was dead from the very beginning of the book meant that I did struggle a bit to get attached to her character because I knew she was dead. However reading her chapters was really interesting and addicting and definitely my favourite.

I was constantly confused over who the murderer was at it was one of those rare books that I actually had no idea at all who the killer might be. However, it was disappointing when it was revealed who the murderer was in the end. I DID NOT expect the murderer to be the person they turned out to be and in some ways that was interesting, but mostly it was just irritating because the reason that no one (including myself!) guessed who the murderer was because the police 'investigation' did a crap job investigating the person in question.

::Thank you HACHETTE for the review copy!::


31116030
Publisher: Hachette
Release Date: October 6th 2016
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape / Paperplus


There would be blood. Blood for blood. Blood to pay. An entire world of it.

For the resistance in the Third Reich, the war may be over, but the fight has just begun. Death camp survivor Yael, who has the power to skinshift, is on the run: the world has just seen her shoot and kill Hitler. But the truth of what happened is far more complicated, and its consequences are deadly. Yael and her unlikely comrades dive into enemy territory to try to turn the tide against Hitler’s army, and there is no alternative but to see their mission through to the end, whatever the cost.

But in the midst of the chaos, Yael’s past and future collide when she comes face to face with a ghost from her past, and a spark with a fellow rider begins to grow into something more. Dark secrets reveal dark truths and one question hangs over them all—how far can you go for the ones you love?



Although sadly not as good as WOLF BY WOLF in my opinion, BLOOD FOR BLOOD packs such an emotional punch. The twists and turns that this book took, the characters who feel so real with their heart-wrenching and heart-breaking stories and arcs, and the chilling, disturbing but so addicting storyline that questions, what if Hitler actually won the war?

OH MY GOODNESS, the teeeeeears I shed while reading. I cried and cried and CRIED at some scenes, ESPECIALLY ONE NEAR THE END. My heart broke and I still feel like crying when I think about it. I knew some characters were going to die...just not the ones that did. However it made me furious that the people that died, died and the people that definitely deserved to die miserably and painfully SURVIVED!!! This angered and frustrated me so much but I understand (GRUDGINGLY AND BITTERLY) why the author did it.

The ending is where the whole book was let down. It was extremely rushed and unsatisfying and I think partly I was so disappointed in it was because the rest of the book had been quite slow and some parts had really dragged. Not to say I didn't enjoy the slow parts - I really did! - but the whole book  felt like it was building up to have this absolutely action-packed, heart-in-mouth, emotional ending and instead we got about 10 pages of lackluster and disappointing half-hearted drama.

Although a bit disappointed, I finished BLOOD FOR BLOOD crying my eyes out and filled with so many conflicting emotions. Yes some parts weren't as good as others, but it still goes down as one of my favourite book series of all time.

::Thank you HACHETTE for the review copy!::



32737127
Publisher: Penguin NZ
Release Date: March 20th 2017
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape / Paperplus


In this groundbreaking debut essay collection, featuring never-before-seen photos, actress Lily Collins—star of Mortal Instruments and the upcoming Rules Don’t Apply—is opening a poignant, honest conversation about the things young women struggle with: body image, self-confidence, relationships, family, dating, and so much more.

For the first time ever, Lily shares her life and her own deepest secrets, underlining that every single one of us experiences pain and heartbreak. We all understand what it’s like to live in the light and in the dark. For Lily, it’s about making it through to the other side, where you love what you see in the mirror and where you embrace yourself just as you are. She's learned that all it takes is one person standing up and saying something for everyone else to realize they’re not alone.

By turns hilarious and heartbreaking, Lily’s honest voice will inspire you to be who you are and say what you feel. It’s time to claim your voice! It’s time to live your life unfiltered.



I read this book in just over an hour and even I was surprised how fast I whipped through it. A collection of personal essays discussing Collins' experience from eating disorders to heartbreak, each essay is quite short and filled with Collins' experience with the subject in question and her advice on it. Inspiring quotes are littered throughout the whole book and the whole feeling of the collection is to uplift and encourage as much as possible.

As sweet as this book was, it just wasn't my thing. Personally, I found the the essays were too short for my taste and I struggled to enjoy them as each of the topics they talked about were covered (in my opinion) so briefly that I didn't really feel like they were talked about at all.

Some of it was interesting and eye opening (for example, I didn't know that Lily suffered from eating disorders for years) but some of it came across as slightly patronizing. I can imagine that it will be a very inspiring and loved read for some people but personally it just wasn't for me!

 ::Thank you PENGUIN NZ for the review copy!::

HAVE YOU READ ANY OF THESE BOOKS?

2 comments :

  1. Tierney Reardon25 April 2017 at 14:41

    Nice reviews m8 :) I've been hearing a lot about Lily Collins' book on Goodreads, I'm not sure if I should check it out or not. I recently read one of Mindy Kaling's books which I didn't like so much, so naturally I wrote an Honest Review of that on my blog-of-the-season x)

    ReplyDelete
  2. LOL My Lady Jane sounds GREAT! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for commenting! I love comments and every single one makes my day! Check back, because I do reply!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...