Thursday, 25 February 2016

My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier :: PSYCHOPATHS, PSYCHOPATHS EVERYWHERE

WELL. This book was almost the perfect package wrapped up in book form! It had an amazing cast of characters, a scarily good plot and a little girl called Rosa that made me internally grateful that my own siblings aren't like her! What else did I love? READ MY LIST BELOW. I've outlined why you need this book in your bookworm paws immediately.


LIST OF THINGS THAT WENT THROUGH ELLA'S BRAIN WHEN SHE FINISHED MY SISTER ROSA

* It reminded me why I enjoy Male POV so much. Che's voice was fresh, witty and honest and one I loved reading from immensely!

* Rosa was creepy AH. And scary...but not AS scary as she could've been?? It frustrated me that Che was obsessed with showing the world how terrible/evil Rosa was and whole Rosa was creepy and really terrible in PARTS of this book, I thought there needed to be MORE examples of her badness so the world really saw/believed that Rosa was actually an evil little muppet/robot because even though Che went on about it all the time/the whole book...I think there needed to be MORE. Maybe chapters from Rosa's POV would've helped??

* It's made me wonder if I know any psychopaths in real life. DO I???

* THAT PLOT TWIST OMGGGGGGG. *brain melts*

* I loved how Christianity was portrayed in here! So refreshing and nice which made a great change from all the bible bashers that is so commonly portrayed as "Christianity" in YA.

* LEILANI IS BASICALLY MY FAVOURITE OF EVERYTHING. I l<3ve Leilani. :')



* The diversity was EXCELLENT. And again, it made such a nice change! There was absolutely NO diversity just shoved in here to be called "diverse" at ALL. It was very different but just so normal at the same time. LOVED IT.

* The writing was really, really, really, REALLY good. It kept me absolutely glued to the page and I couldn't stop if I wanted too. I admit it got a bit slow in the middle where is dropped the OMG WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPPPPPPEN *hides under bed shivering* pace that the beginning and end held but it was still entertaining so I didn't really mind. The descriptiveness was done really well as I got a real feel of being in NYC and inside the book while I read but it was so descriptive that it bored me and made me gnash my teeth in frustration.

* Oh, how amazing the cast of characters were! Each one was different and unique in such a normal way!

* Again, THAT ENDING AHHHHHHH.




BASICALLY: You should really, really read MY SISTER ROSA! It's my newest favourite book and I'm wholeheartedly in love with it!

Actual rating 4.5!
::Thank you ALLEN & UNWIN for the review copy!::




26465507
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Release Date: January 27th 2016
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape | The Book Depository | Amazon
Read it in: 4 hours
Word Rating: SCARILY AMAZING
What if the most terrifying person you'd ever met was your ten-year old sister? A spine-chilling psychological thriller from one of Australia's finest YA authors. 

'I promise,' said Rosa. 'I won't kill and I won't make anyone else kill.'
I can't see the loophole. Since the guinea pig there's been nothing. Months now without Rosa killing as much as a mosquito.
As far as I know.


Che Taylor has four items on his list: 1. He wants to spar, not just train in the boxing gym. 2. He wants a girlfriend. 3. He wants to go home. 4. He wants to keep Rosa under control.

Che's little sister Rosa is smart, talented, pretty, and so good at deception that Che's convinced she must be a psychopath. She hasn't hurt anyone yet, but he's certain it's just a matter of time. And when their parents move them to New York City, Che longs to return to Sydney and his three best friends. But his first duty is to his sister Rosa, who is playing increasingly complex and disturbing games. Can he protect Rosa from the world - and the world from Rosa?

My Sister Rosa will have you on the edge of your seat from the very first page to the last.


HAVE YOU READ my sister rosa???!! WILL YOU??? OF COURSE YOU WILL. ALSO: ANY OTHER BOOKS OUT THERE THAT ARE LIKE my sister rosa THAT YOU COULD RECOMMEND TO ME?

Tuesday, 2 February 2016

The Jewel and The White Rose by Amy Ewing :: addictive, but haven't i read something like this before?

Time to review The Jewel and The White Rose! They've been sitting on my shelves since October and I finally finished reading them this month! I'm quite mixed to how I feel about them so I've decided to list the heck out of my thoughts because it's more fun that way. ALSO #BOOKISHPHOTOGRAPHY! This will be my second attempt and definitely not my last. (You can see my first attempt here!) Onwards to the reviews!

~*~


things that made me go "hey! i like this book!"

  • Beginning The Jewel was an extreme struggle, but now that I've finished it, I'm so glad I stuck with it because once you got past the half way mark it really did start to get better!

  •  Once you got through the hard slog that was the first 200 pages, it was unbelievably addictive! I was flying through it and didn't want it to end!

  • I really loved the original story idea minus the similarities to the Hunger Games in some of it. It's really creative and I think stands out a bit slightly from every other bland dystopian that I've read before.


things that made me grind my teeth

  • THE FIRST HALF WAS SO. HARD. TO GET. THROUGH. Honestly, that's why it took me so long to finish The Jewel. I started it in October and have kept putting it down, picking it up and putting it back down again since then, and I only finished it after MAKING myself sit down and push through it all last week. After the first 200 pages things get better, but before that? IT IS PAINFUL. 

  • The Hunger Games similarities were kind of ridiculous. I won't go into detail about them because every review I've read on The Jewel goes on about them, but they were there and they were plenty. It took away the otherwise original idea of The Jewel which was frustrating.

  • The Instalove. WAS RIDICULOUS. I felt like it was almost an afterthought the romance?? A bit like the romance was like in The Hunger Games?? Violet doesn't met Ash till over half way through the book and then suddenly it's all "I LOVE YOU AND WANT TO BE WITH YOU 4EVER!" I'm sorry, but I don't ship it.

::Thank you Walker Books Australia for the review copy!::



22586252
Publisher: Walker Books
Release Date: September 4th 2014
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape | The Book Depository | Amazon
Read it in: 4 hours
Word Rating: HALF NIGHTMARE HALF DREAM



"Today is my last day as Violet Lasting. Tomorrow I become Lot 197."


The Jewel is a shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing.

Sold for six million diamantes, Violet is now Surrogate of the House of the Lake in the centre of the Lone City, the Jewel. Her sole purpose is to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess – a woman Violet fears and despises.

Violet is trapped in a living death, her name and body no longer her own. She fights to hold on to her own identity and sanity, uncertain of the fate of her friends, isolated and at the mercy of the Duchess.

The Handmaid's Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide.

~*~


**possible small spoilers from book one BE WARNED**


things i loved


  • I saw a lot of people that loved The Jewel being disappointed by The White Rose so I was cautious when I went into it, but in my opinion it surpassed The Jewel by a lot for which I'm really glad for!

  • Unlike The Jewel, The White Rose stands on it's own to feet, the heavy Hunger Games similarities in the first book dissipating here, instead letting the original story shine through and grab my interest even harder.

  • Violet is stronger in The White Rose and I really appreciate her growth. The growth isn't fast but steadily she's becoming more the person she wants to be, not what others have tried to make her be.

  • The romance was better in here then it was in The Jewel. It had a chance to breathe, I think? There was also the fact that there was hardly any romance at all because too much else was going on, but I thought that was a good thing!


things i...didn't like so much

  • IT HAS SUCH A NASTY CLIFFHANGER!! After The Jewel's nightmare of an ending, I really didn't think anything could be more cliffhangery. WELL I TAKE IT BACK! ALL OF IT. The ending of The White Rose BLEW The Jewel's ending out of the water!

  • It was too short bordering on just right. The pace was good, the storyline was good, there was action aplenty as well as other things that happened, it was all going at a steady pace and then...the book just ended on a cliffhanger out of NOWHERE. And it was SO FRUSTRATING. End it on a cliffhanger if you must, but don't end the book so abruptly I feel like I've missed some chapters!

::Thank you Walker Books Australia for the review copy!::
Actual rating 3.5!


25431440


Publisher: Walker Books Australia
Release Date: October 1st 2015
Source: From the Publisher!
Purchase: Mighty Ape | The Book Depository | Amazon
Read it in: 3 hours
Word Rating:WHY THAT ENDING WHY


Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel.

Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. 


Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. 

For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.


THE MOST IMPORTANT QUESTION!! WHICH COVER IS YOUR FAVOURITE??! (mine is both and no that's not cheating..) ALSO: HAVE YOU READ THESE BOOKS??
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...