Sunday, 24 May 2015

Welcome to a Slice of Ella's YOUNGER brain: A Letter to WILD AWAKE by Hilary T. Smith {*stabs book repeatedly with fork*}


 


A millennium ago, in May last year, I read a book called Wild Awake. That book made me SO angry that I wrote a letter to it, in an incredibly dramatized fashion because I thought it would it would help let off a little steam. IT DIDN'T WORK. I just got angrier, and I remember last year, in a Top Ten Tuesday list I was blathering on about how much I hated this book, and I remember asking if anyone would be interested in reading the dramatic letter I wrote to it. A few people said Yes! I'm interested!, and I was like, Cool! I'll post it soon! And then forgot all about it.

More then a year later, I stumbled over my letter to the damn book on Goodreads and was pretttty much like OMG OMG OMG OMG I. DID. NOTTTTT. WRITE. THISSSS!!! ZOMG I DID WRITE THIS!!! WHAT WAS WRRRRRONG WITH ME??!! *brain implodes with embarrassment* And then I thought, Hey! I could make this into that blog post that I promised all of last year ago, and wail under my duvet while the internet reads it! So I did.

I would just like to remind you all before you read on that I WROTE THIS OVER A YEAR AGO. I was FOURTEEN nearly fifteen and frankly, I was an idiot. IT'S ALSO SUPPOSED TO BE A LITTLE DRAMATIC. I realize that by the end, it sounds like I'm on drugs, BUT I SWEAR, I was just having a fuming moment and also my overactive imagination took over.


HERE IS THE LETTER. PROCEED AT YOUR OWN RISK. You can see my little aggressive comments in brackets and italics at the end of each paragraph.

**

Dear Wild Awake,

I wanted to love you. You will never know how much.

When I first saw your beautiful cover peeping out from the 'New Books' shelf at the library, I knew that you and I were meant to meet each other (there is a moral to this story, people). I took you in my hands and held you reverently before turning you over to read your blurb. Your blurb was a list! A LIST. In that moment, time stood still and you looked deep into my eyes and smiled. And in that moment, I knew that we were meant to be together. I took you home and even before I'd opened your covers, we had announced our engagement and set a date for the wedding. [*stutters* OMG THAT LAST SENTENCE MAKES ME ME WANT TO BE SICK.]

When I finally sat down and opened you up prepared to learn every line of your soul, I started your first chapter and thought that to get to the soul you had to read deeper then the first chapter...don't you? I read another two chapters and told myself that I needed to relax. No one was perfect. I would love you anyway. I read another five chapters and and learnt that you had many sordid secrets: you drank, did drugs and swore when it was most definitely not needed. I decided you must be a diamond; you have to dig deep to find them and they are always rough around the edges. I decided I would help you through your habits and our relationship would become stronger because of it. [NOOOOOO THIS ISN'T HAPPENINNNNNNNNG.]

Seven chapters on, I set you down, and wondered if you actually had a soul. I was wading through so much grime and filth I didn't see any sign of a shining, sparkling soul that I was so sure I would find when I began my journey with you. When I finally finished you and closed your covers for the last time, I wept. I beat your chest and screamed at you through tear filmed eyes, asking how you could've lied to me. I told you that the engagement was broken and that the wedding was off I then sent you packing, down the Library 'Book Returns' and swore never to see you again. [*headdesks until loses consciousness*]

I still bump into you on occasion. Normally when I least expect it. Sometimes I'm just browsing and then you suddenly pop up. I always look away before memories of the time I was with you, escape from the locked box in my mind. Sometimes the lock isn't strong enough though, and memories whirl around my head like a tornado before I manage to wrestle them back into their box. [WHAT WAS I THINNNNNIKING WHEN I WROTE THIS?????!!!!!!]

I saw you again the other day. But this time you weren't by yourself. You were tucked under a girl's arm, and she was looking at you like you were the most precious thing in the world. My vision turned red and hands clenched into fists. I wanted to run over to her and scream at her not to do it, to dump you where you stood and run while she had the chance, that you would break her heart like you did to mine. But I didn't. I just stood watching her walk out with you, looking into each others eyes. [*dies*]

Moral of the story: Don't read books just because they have pretty covers. This is how hearts and words are broken.

**


Well! I hope you all enjoyed that, because I'm am SO close to throwing myself off the nearest cliff. I DON'T THINK I CAN BE TRUSTED TO EVER WRITE ANOTHER WORD EVER AGAIN. *dies slowly* But it's time for me to stop blathering on and for you lot of the internet to tell me what YOU think!! Have you read Wild Awake?! Do you want to?! Would you be interested in seeing more letters to books I don't like on here (obviously less dramatic)?!

Tuesday, 5 May 2015

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas (NOWORDSNOWORDSNOWORDS)



16096824
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Release Date: May 5th 2015
Source: NetGalley for review! THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART BLOOMSBURY I LOVE YOU FOREVER
Purchase: The Book Depository
Read it in: 4-5 hours
Word Rating: WORDS?! WHAT ARE WORDS?! I HAVE NO WORDS!!

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!
REVIEW

I basically have NO WORDS when it comes to A Court of Thorns and Roses. Every time I start thinking about, I'm suddenly overcome with word vomit and any intelligent thoughts that are in my head turn to mush. So this review is just a mash of how much love I have for this book

I know a lot of people that have read ACOTAR and TOG have measured them up against each other, or have been disappointed that ACOTAR wasn't like TOG, but I honestly think it's wrong to measure them up against each other, as they are, to me, SO different from each other, and I LOVED that.

THINGS THAT MADE ME WANT TO HICCUP RAINBOWS IN SUPREME HAPPINESS

Feyre being unable to read!!! I thought this twist WAS. AMAZING. Of all the Beauty and the Beast retellings I've read, the main character has always loved reading...and Feyre being unable to just made me go speechless with OMG THAT IS SUCH A FABULOUS TWIST LET US DANCE THE CHICKEN DANCE IN CELEBRATION.

CHARACTERS! Feyre was awesome. Feyre was brilliant. FEYRE WAS FABULOUS. She made beautiful art that spoke in the way she could not, and she would do anything for the people she loved. Tamlin was most of the above three although his claws crept me out slightly. And the fact that he was at least a few hundred years older then Feyre but shhh. Lucien was pretty much EVERYTHING IS AWESOME. (I am soooo tempted to put that gif in here, BUT I'M NOT. Mainly because I hate that song with a passion and also it will cling to my brain for days.) Lucien was probably my favourite character. He needed a warm blanket and cuddle and for the world to stop being so mean to him.

The Wordbuilding! Maas did it again and I am jealous...yet AGAIN.

How it was obviously a retelling of a lovely fairytale, but at the same time managed to stand on it's own two feet easily as it's own story!

THE TEENY TINY COUPLE OF GRUMBLEY MUTTERINGS I HAD

I really, really, REALLY didn't like Rhys. There's evil characters that you can root for because they're nice evil (please tell me you get this) but then there's evil that is just evil and you just want them to go drown quietly somewhere.  but I just couldn't get over how he physically and mentally hurt Feyre...and that is NOT right in ANY way. It worries me when I read reviews by people who want Rhys as a love interest more then Tamlin as it just seems...wrong to me. He sees Feyre as an interesting toy or object and I just hated that. By the end of ACOTAR his character had improved slightly, but not enough that I had respect for.

I have to admit that the first 70% was just a smidgen on the quiet side. It focused on the romance and the world building - which was frabjous and I loved reading it! - but the last 30% is just SO mindbogglingly AMAZING, full of blood, action, and awesomeness which I DID enjoy more. Maas writes such amazing action scenes that I felt a little ripped off that I only got 30% of that awesomness.

A SMATTERING OF WORRIES FOR BOOK TWO

I'm terrified that book two will become a messy angsty love triangle and that Feyre will start to fall for Rhys. If that actually happens, I WILL not only have the biggest bookish ragethon on the planet, I will also give up on the series. 

Talking about book two, ACOTAR was tied up SO well, with no traily story ends whatsoever, apart from one, that I'm not really sure why it needs to be a trilogy. That's not because I don't want the series to carry on (I DO! I DO! I DO!), but I'd much rather have the memory of having ACOTAR being that beautiful standalone, then have it tainted with the memory of the terrible sequels that followed (THEY'RE NOT GOING TO BE TERRIBLE THOUGH, THEY'RE NOT, FINGERS CROSSED!)

 OVERALL

Is ACOTAR better then TOG?! I really don't think it's fair to measure them up against each other. In some places, YES ACOTAR is better then TOG, but at the same time, YES TOG is better in places then ACOTAR was!

Rating:
 5 Stars
 

 SO! TALK TO ME IN THE COMMENTS!! HAVE YOU READ ACOTAR?! IF YOU HAVEN'T, ARE YOU LOOKING FORWARD TO IT?!?! IF YOU'VE READ IT...TELL ME WHAT YOU THINK! (And also take note on the fact that not a single gif is slipped into this review. CONGRATULATE ME. IT WAS VERY HARD WORK.)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...